Yoga in Paris: A Comprehensive Directory of Studios

Yoga in Paris: A Comprehensive Directory of Studios

5871
3
Print Print
Email Email

International Yoga Day under the Eiffel Tower
International Yoga Day under the Eiffel Tower/ Public domain

[Editor’s note: This comprehensive directory was last updated in February 2019.]

The first International Yoga Day was observed around the world on June 21st, 2015, including a gathering of 1,500 eager yogis beneath the Eiffel Tower. According to Narenda Modi, the Prime Minister of India, “Yoga embodies unity of mind and body; thought and action; restraint and fulfillment; harmony between man and nature; a holistic approach to health and well-being.” The practice of yoga is a natural path to peace and unity. Given the recent tragic events in Paris and worldwide, may this practice help us to achieve inner peace, and unity with one another.

It is only in recent years that the 5,000-year-old practice of yoga made its presence more widely known in Paris. As early as the late 1970s, a few studios were scattered around the city, most of them hidden within discreet courtyards, frequented only by devoted yogis. As Paris continued to evolve in its organic and holistic scene, so too have Parisians taken to the mat.

Since I arrived nine years ago, yoga studios have been opening up seemingly overnight, in all 20 arrondissements. With so many foreign teachers making Paris their home, select classes are offered in their native English, which I quickly discovered upon arrival. My first studio became Centre de Yoga Du Marais, founded in 2001 by fellow New Yorker Michelle Jacobi. I immediately felt at home in our universal language of sun salutations and downward dogs. This became a welcome escape as I studied French, made friends and became integrated in the culture. What better place to meet like-minded expats while sharing a moment of zen.

Big Apple Yoga, Paris
courtesy of Big Apple Yoga

In the years that followed, my yoga practice spread across the river to studios including Rasa Yoga in the Rive Gauche. With the help of Tryndo and a fervent curiosity, I discovered studios in all corners of Paris, my knowledge of the city deepening with every ujjayi breath. My practice took me from dynamic Vinyasa to restorative Yin, and all the practices in between. I even attempted my first Bikram class, but the extreme heat forced me back to more temperate conditions. After the opening of so many stellar studios, I returned to the right bank, but I still venture left for an occasional namaste. Select Saturday mornings the American Church in Paris unifies by offering a donation only Guerilla Yoga community class, where breathing replaces prayer.

For newcomers to Paris, or anyone looking for a yoga practice, here is a comprehensive list of studios by neighborhood, and where you can breathe easy in English. For stylish and essential yoga accessories, stop by Yoga Concept where you’ll find an array of brands, including Kasia Dietz bags and Square Modern meditation cushions, both made in Paris. This Haut Marais boutique opened in 2010 by devoted yogi Pamela Levy continues to serve as the one stop shop for all things yoga.

Mysore Yoga Paris
©Agathe Philbé/ www.mysoreyogaparis.com

Atelier de Yoga, 35 rue St Roch (1st). www.atelierdeyoga.com. +33 (0)6 61 50 12 40

Sputnik Yoga Space (ENG), 20 rue Dussoubs (2nd). www.sputnikyogaspace.com. +33 (0)1 42 36 76 11

Caelo Yoga (ENG), 55 Rue Montmartre (2nd). www.caeloyoga.com. +33 (0)1 45 08 59 10

Qee Palais Royal, 7 Rue d’Argout (2nd). www.qee.fr. +33 (0)9 72 55 35 47

Yoga Colibri, 7 rue Notre Dame de Bonne Nouvelle (2nd). www.yoga-colibri.com. +33 (0)1 75 50 07 14

Yoga Village, 39 Boulevard des Capucines (2nd). www.yogavillage.fr. +33 (0)1 72 34 58 47

Atelier Essenza, 7 cite Dupetit-Thouars (3rd). www.atelier-essenza.com. +33 (0)6 59 73 98 40

Atelier Marais, 54 rue Charlot (3rd). www.atelier-marais.fr. +33 (0)6 48 73 21 96

Centre de Yoga Du Marais (ENG), 72 rue du Vertbois (3rd). www.yogamarais.com. +33 (0)1 42 74 24 92

Omm Studio (ENG), 14 rue Saint-Gilles (3rd). www.ommstudio.fr. +33 (0)1 40 09 26 69

Studio Yoga République, 21 Rue Béranger (3rd). www.studio-yoga-republique.fr. +33 (0)6 52 51 13 03

The YogaFactory, 21 rue des Filles du Calvaire (3rd). www.theyogafactory.fr. +33 (0)1 83 94 29 08

Le Tigre Yoga Club Marais, 11 rue du Perche (3rd). www.tigre-yoga.com. +33 (0)1 40 09 10 00

Studio Yoga République, 21 Rue Béranger (3rd). www.studio-yoga-republique.fr. +33 (0)6 52 51 13 03

Samasthiti Studio, 23 rue de la Cerisaie (4th). www.samasthitistudio.net. +33 (0)1 44 07 31 33

Rasa (ENG), 21 Rue Saint-Jacques (5th). www.rasa-yogarivegauche.com. +33 (0)1 43 54 14 59

Studio Rituel, 16 rue de la Grange Chaumiere (6th). www.studio-rituel.paris. +33 (0)1 53 10 86 00

Kshanti Yoga Paris (ENG), 13 Rue du Vieux Colombier (6th). www.kshanti-yoga.com. +33 (0)7 70 20 89 85

Bandha Yoga (ENG), 31 rue Bonaparte (6th). www.bandhayoga.paris. +33 (0)1 42 39 43 44

YogaYoga Paris (ENG) 6 passage de la Vierge (7th). www.yogayogaparis.fr. +33 (0)1 47 20 71 56

Centre de Relations Culturelles Franco-Indien, 50 rue Vaneau (7th). www.crcfi-yoga-vie.com/activites/cours-de-yoga. +33 (0)1 45 48 04 64

Le Tigre Yoga Club Rive Gauche, 101 Rue du Cherche-Midi (7th). www.rivegauche.tigre-yoga.com. +33 (0)1 56 80 06 06

Yuj Yoga Studio Paris Alma (ENG), 11 rue Edmond Valentin (7th). www.yujyogastudio.com. +33 (0)1 45 33 31 34

Paris Yoga Shala (ENG), 9 rue Magellan (8th). www.parisyoga.com. +33 (0)1 40 70 14 44

Institut Eva Ruchpaul, 69 Rue de Rome (8th). www.yoga-eva-ruchpaul.com. +33 (0)1 44 90 06 70

Espace Nataraja, 12 rue Hippolyte Lebas (9th). www.espace-nataraja.com. +33 (0)6 15 14 76 47

Espace Sattva, 7 Rue du Cardinal Mercier (9th). www.espacesattva.fr. +33 (0)1 47 37 40 56

Trini Yoga, 24-26 rue d’Enghien (10th). www.triniyoga.fr. +33 (0)6 03 53 08 42

Mysore Yoga Paris (ENG), 17 rue Eugène Varlin (10th). www.mysoreyogaparis.com

Canal Central, 12 rue Lucien Sampaix (10th). www.canalcentral.fr. +33 (0)1 53 19 07 37

Centre Sivananda de Yoga Vedanta de Paris, 140 rue du Faubourg Saint Martin (10th). www.sivananda.org. +33 (0)1 40 26 77 49

Casa Yoga, 4 Rue de Paradis (10th). www.casayoga-paris.fr. +33 (0)1 83 97 31 25

Ashtanga Yoga Paris, 40 avenue de la Republique (11th). www.ashtangayogaparis.fr. +33 (0)1 45 80 19 96

Gerard Arnaud Yoga Studios, 3 passage Rauche & 11 passage Saint-Pierre Amelot (11th). www.yoga-paris.com. +33 (0)1 47 00 26 12

Osmose Yoga Paris, 91, rue de la Roquette (11th). www.osmose-yoga-paris.com. +33 (0)6 73 18 42 85

Bromance Paname (ENG), 8 rue du Grand Prieuré (11th). www.bromancepaname.fr. +33 (0)6 63 56 33 98 / +33 (0)6 75 71 26 45

Yoga Amrita, 20 Rue Saint Nicolas (12th). www.yoga-amrita.com. +33 (0)6 87 75 00 86

Cerise et Or, 209 Bld Vincent Auriol (13th). www.cerise-et-or.fr. +33 (0)1 44 97 42 37

Beyoga (ENG), 17 rue Campagne Premiere (14th). www.beyoga.fr. +33 (0)9 65 31 60 11

Sahaja Yoga (ENG), Espace Fontanelle – 38, rue Fondary (15th). www.sahajayoga.fr. +33 (0)6 10 44 13 10

Le Tigre, 17/19 rue de Chaillot (16th). www.tigre-yoga.com. +33 (0)9 84 54 17 34

Centre de Yoga Iyengar de Paris, 35 Avenue Victor Hugo (16th). www.sfbiria.com. +33 (0)1 45 00 28 48

Yoga by Mao, 121 rue Legendre (17th). www.yogabymao.com. +33 (0)6 80 63 02 23

Ici-Selfcare, 44 rue des Acacia (17th). www.ici-selfcare.com. +33 (0)7 69 18 64 97

Yuj Yoga Studio Paris Wagram (ENG), 2 rue Gounod (17th). www.yujyogastudio.com. +33 (0)1 47 64 93 17

Yoga in Paris (ENG), 10 Rue Francoeur (18th). www.yogainparis.com. +33 (0)6 84 42 43 80

Yoga & Co, 15 Quai de la Seine (19th). www.yogaandco.fr. +33 (0)1 42 09 20 78

Centre de yoga Anjaliom Paris, 144 Boulevard de la Villette (19th). www.yoga.paris. +33 (0)1 42 00 54 20

Nata, 28 rue Planchat (20th). www.nataparis.com. +33 (0)1 53 27 77 54

Jaya, 284 rue des Pyrénées (20th). www.jayaparis.fr. +33 (0)1 43 58 61 32

Want more content like this?

Sign up to the free Bonjour Paris newsletter to get all the best Paris related content and competitions sent directly to your inbox. Find out more.

SHARE
Previous articleMysteries of Paris: Great Fall and Winter Reading
Next articleA Fancy (Organic) Feast for the World Leaders at COP21
Kasia Dietz is a handbag designer and freelance writer from New York, with a passion for art, fashion and travel, who followed her heart to Paris. She resides in the North Marais and has been featured in various publications including Vogue, Stylist, Travel+Leisure and Luxos. Her handbags are available online and sold at fashionable boutiques around the world. You can read about her life and travels on her blog: loveinthecityoflights.com

3 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY